What time is CEST? Explanation of UK and European time zones

Do time zones make your head spin? This is what CEST is… (Photo: Getty)

There are many sayings about time – time waits for no one. Time is money. Time is the most precious thing a man can spend.

We all know how to make the most of our time – whether it’s efficiently with work and chores, or maximizing our self-care time when we go on the go. summer vacation and other trips.

But this is where time can trip us up. Not everyone is on the same time zone.

What are the different time zones in Europe? Convenient to know if you are working from anywhere…

What time is CEST?

Whether you’re going on a trip or trying to arrange a FaceTime call abroad with a friend abroad, you’ve probably come across the acronym CEST displayed after a while.

This can be, for example, the kick off of a football match or the start time of a TV broadcast.

St. Peter's Basilica, from the Pincio

Many popular holiday destinations – including Italy – are on CEST (Picture: Getty)

CEST time corresponds to Central European Summer Time. It is Central European Time (CET) summer time.

CEST is an hour ahead of us during British Summer Time (BST) and two hours ahead of Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) – although most European countries also advance their clocks to late March (inaugurate CEST) and late October ( bringing CET), the difference is reduced to one hour.

The only European countries that do not are Russia, Iceland, Belarus and Turkey.

Countries that use CEST include:

  • Antarctic
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Denmark
  • France
  • Germany
  • Italy
  • Malta
  • monaco
  • Sweden
  • Swiss

Most of Europe uses three standard time zones.

A selection of wall clocks displaying different times

Different time zones can be confusing (Photo: Getty Images)

From west to east, the time zones are Western European Time (WET) which is the same as GMT, Central European Time (CET) which is one hour ahead of GMT and Eastern Europe (EET) which is two hours ahead of GMT.

Countries on WET time include the UK and Ireland, as well as Portugal, the Canary Islands and the Faroe Islands, while countries that use EET (known as EEST in summer) include Bulgaria, Cyprus, Finland, Greece, Latvia, Lithuania, Moldova. , Romania and Ukraine.

AFTER : Feeling the Bern: How to Spend a Wellness Weekend in This Peaceful Swiss Town

MORE: These hotels have the best views in the world

Follow Metro on our social networks, on Facebook, Twitter and instagram.

Share your opinions in the comments below.

Comments are closed.