Europe travel restrictions, Covid-19 testing requirements, by country, for July

Many European countries have removed travel restrictions related to Covid-19 – the latest countries are Estonia, Finland and Portugal from July 1.

However, there are still countries where it is still mandatory to test yourself and to bring Covid-19 vaccination or recovery certificates.

Here’s a preview of what’s happening for July 2022.

Countries in Europe without travel restrictions

There are currently 32 destinations in Europe that do not have Covid-19 restrictions in place: Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Kosovo, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Moldova, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Switzerland and United Kingdom

This means that regardless of vaccination history, it is not necessary to present documents relating to the state of health of a traveler.

EUEuropean countries with travel restrictions in place

The following countries still apply travel restrictions across Europe:

  • France—France still uses different travel rules depending on whether people have been vaccinated or not. The majority of countries are listed in green, from which people can travel for non-essential travel and fully vaccinated travelers can enter without testing requirements. Non-vaccinated must still test before entry with a negative PCR result less than 72 hours or an antigen test less than 48 hours before departure.
  • Malta – anyone arriving in the country must still present either a vaccination certificate, recovery document or a negative Covid-19 test result.
  • Netherlands – an entry ban is still in place for all travelers arriving from outside the EU/Schengen area, except those who can prove they are vaccinated or can show a certificate of recovery or who arrive from the list of safe countries. This makes the Netherlands the only country on this list in Europe that does not currently allow entry for unvaccinated travelers from outside the EU.
  • Spain – the country recently dropped the requirement for travelers coming from inside the EU/Schengen area to present documents relating to their Covid-19 status. However, from outside the EU/EEA region, travelers must present proof of vaccination, recovery or a negative test result, either a PCR taken within 72 hours or an antigen taken within 48 hours. In plain English, this means Spain is open to unvaccinated travellers, provided they test themselves.

Comments are closed.