Europe travel restrictions cause panic and confusion


New York (CNN) – As travel restrictions take effect across much of Europe, President Trump’s decision to fight the coronavirus has panicked and confused Americans who have rushed home.

Doug and Rina Taus, who have two daughters in a study abroad program in Barcelona, ​​bought new tickets to ensure their children can go home on Thursday.

“If the message were clearer, we probably would have left them on their Sunday flights to return,” Doug Taus told CNN at John F. Kennedy Airport in New York City Thursday night. “But at this point, we couldn’t risk that our children couldn’t enter the country for 30 days.”

Ban on 26 countries sparks international chaos

“Just to make a big post and then a few hours later to clarify what that means, is really unfair to everyone involved,” Shiplay said. “To the children, because they were in a panic at 3 am, and to the parents trying to get them home.”

Doug Taus said clarity has come too late.

“When we found the clarity, we could have canceled today’s flight because they are giving you 24 hours to cancel it,” Taus said. “By this point we were all done, take them home, we were done.”

Ida Demartelly arrived from Paris and said she was tested as usual. She said she was concerned about future travel between the United States and France.

“We are facing something unprecedented,” said Demartelly. “So, yeah, I don’t think any of us really know that.”

Most foreign nationals who were in the European Schengen area – 26 countries stretching from Iceland to Greece – will be barred from entering the United States. U.S. citizens, green card holders, some family members and a few other groups are exempt from the travel ban, but will face additional health checks and restrictions upon arrival.

It allows travel to the United States from the United Kingdom and applies to Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

New travel bans launched last month

Sources told CNN that travelers from Europe would be diverted to one of the 11 airports screening passengers from China and Iran. Discussions are underway to add airports, but will depend on the capacity of the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, according to two sources familiar with the plans.

The current 11 airports where improved health checks are available are: JFK in New York; Chicago O’Hare; San Francisco International; Seattle-Tacoma International; Daniel K. Inouye International in Honolulu; Los Angeles International; Atlanta Hartsfield-Jackson International; Washington-Dulles International; Newark Liberty International in New Jersey; Dallas / Fort Worth International; and the Detroit Metro Airport.

In February, the United States launched restrictions to contain the epidemic. Most foreign nationals who have visited China in the 14 days prior to arriving in the United States are refused entry. This was expanded to include Iran earlier this month.

The coronavirus has killed at least 41 people in the United States and at least 1,665 cases have been reported in 47 states. The majority of the deaths have been in Washington state.


Comments are closed.